Boban & Marko Markovic Orchestra - The Promise


"The Promise" - Boban & Marko Markovic Orchestra

Boban Markovic Orkestar feat. Marko Markovic - The Promise

Album available!

buy this record
  • Artist:Boban & Marko Markovic Orchestra
  • featured artist:Marko Markovic
  • region:Gypsy and Balkan
  • release year:2005
  • style(s):
    • Brass
    • Gypsy
  • country:Serbia
  • catalogue numberPIR1901
  • formats:
    • CD

The Boban Markovic Orkestra have won the top prize at the annual Gucha festival so often they had to stop competing, which makes them officially the best brass band in the Balkans. In leading their orkestar from Vladicin Han in Serbia's deep south, the Markovic's music reflects the many sources that have shaped the Balkans and the Gypsies' journey. Here the ancient meets the post-modern, blending everything to create an eerie, intuitive music that grooves like crazy. With Markovic's son (who was 17 when this album was recorded) the muscled powerhouse of the Boban Markovic Orkestra boasts a new strength.
Marko is a prodigy on the trumpet and is out to to prove it. Just when it seem the tracks couldn't go faster and it already feels like a truck careening down a mountain road without brakes, the band switches to double time.
Although Balkan music is the core here, they do throw in a couple of Latin pieces as change-ups. Reckless, sometimes almost anarchic, this is brass music where caution is thrown to the winds, and the result is a rush of virtuoso sound to fill the soul.


" Mr. Markovic's newest album, "The Promise", features his typically kaleidoscopic takes on standard coceks (stomping Gypsy dance tunes), but also dips into the Latin American brass band tradition with "Latino" and "Voz," songs that wouldn't sound out of place on the set list of a Mexican banda"

New York Times, April 2006

"Boban Markovic, his orchestra, and once again, his trumpeter son Marko move from Vladicin Han in Serbia's deep south through the various Balkans and the Gypsy roots that have been their mainstay. Ancient meets the post-modern in a decidedly different recording produced by Ben Mandelson and Rob Keyloch."

CD Roots


Please wait! Loading in progress...please wait! upload in progress... it can take a while - depending on your internet connection