Fermin Muguruza - Brigadistak Sound System


"Brigadistak Sound System" - Fermin Muguruza


Album available!

buy this record
  • Artist:Fermin Muguruza
  • featured artist:Manu Chao, Desorden Publico, Mad Professor
  • region:Latin
  • release year:2001
  • style(s):
    • Basque
    • Dub
  • country:France
  • catalogue numberPIR1571
  • formats:
    • CD

Euskera, the language of the Basque people, is unique in Europe and so is Fermin Muguruza. An angry man, rage burns off the grooves in every song, and the styles – punk, hip-hop, reggae and dancehall – are the music of rebellion and confrontation. He's an indefatigable traveler in the name of culture, politics and global resistance. He voyaged across several seas to record this album with the International Sound Brigade, featuring Manu Chao, Desorden Público, Todos Tus Muertos and many more. Though he mostly uses the Euskera language the fury is tangible. But the militancy and fury would be empty sloganeering without the music to back it up, and this is full of both passion and originality. The revolution will be televised (probably on YouTube), and Muguruza will eagerly be providing the soundtrack.

Press Quotes

"Say Yes and just get up an dance. Join Muguruza and the raucous, mulitethnic party illustrated on the cover of "Brigadistak Sound System". The illustration is a joyous jumble of people, smiling, twirling, celebrating. Only Muguruza is looking straight at you, a clenched fist on his sweatshirt but a smile on his lips."
Los Angeles Times

"While not for the faint of heart, Muguruza's eccentric amalgam will reward patient and impatient listeners alike. It's superb. It's awful. And it's nothing if not unforgettable."
Miami New Times

"A never-ending list of friends and soul buddies whose names form an essential part of that furious graffiti, that rebellious echo, of that roar which provides the blast that may shatter the speakers of the Brigadistak Sound System."
Bruno Galindo,Madrid


Please wait! Loading in progress...please wait! upload in progress... it can take a while - depending on your internet connection